Parks Department

Parks Foundation

The Parks Action Plan is focused on transforming the County’s nine regional parks as well as enhancing recreational opportunities at the parks, on the county’s riverfront trail system and highlighting other greenway initiatives. In order to achieve those goals, the creation of a 501c3 non-profit organization was proposed that would be charged with raising private funds for the parks, working with County Council and the County Executive to select signature projects in the parks and to create public-private partnerships to operate some of the parks’ major amenities and attractions.

On September 27, 2007, the Allegheny County Parks Foundation was established. Working cooperatively with the County, it is expected that many of the goals and recommendations in the Allegheny County Parks Comprehensive Master Plan can be implemented with funds being used for deferred maintenance, recreational improvements and facility enhancements.

Allegheny County Parks Foundation
Board Members

John Surma, Chair     Chester Babst, Treasurer
Carol Brown, Vice Chair   Bill Bates, Secretary
Andy Baechle    The Honorable Charles Martoni
Ellen Still Brooks   John Mascaro, Jr.
G. Reynolds Clark   William McKain
Kevin Colosimo   James Mitnick
Karen Wolk Feinstein   Thomas M. Mulroy
The Honorable Rich Fitzgerald   Philip A. LaMay
Sally Foster   Dan Onorato
Christine Fulton   P. Jerome Richey
Pat Getty   Tom Sterling
Jerry MacCleary    

For more information, visit the Parks Foundation website at World Wide Web Icon