Departments and Offices

Browse the department directory

County Executive: Sara Innamorato

The County Executive is the highest elected official in Allegheny County and is responsible for the oversight and operation of 20 departments under the jurisdiction of the executive branch.

The County Executive represents the county in all meetings and negotiations involving economic development, as well as in all meetings and negotiations with the heads of other governmental or government-related bodies.

Learn about the County Executive

County Council

Allegheny County Council is the legislative branch of the county government. The council's duties include approving legislation and the county's budget, permitting use of county property, levying taxes and fees, and confirming or rejecting appointments for county agencies.

View upcoming council meetings and sign up to speak

Treasurer: Erica Rocchi Brusselars

The Treasurer's Office collects property taxes, provides licenses (including for dogs, hunting, fishing, and bingo), and administers special taxes (including for alcoholic beverages, hotel rooms, and vehicle rentals).

Learn about the Treasurer's Office

County Controller: Corey O'Connor

The Office of the Controller is responsible for the oversight of Allegheny County’s financial operations, services, spending, and contracts.

On the County Controller's site, users can report financial fraud or waste, search county contracts, access the Property Tax Estimate Worksheet, and review the Controller's climate action recommendations.

Learn about the County Controller's Office

Sheriff: Kevin M. Kraus

The Sheriff's Office is organized into three branches: Civil, Courts, and Investigations. The office issues licenses to sell and carry firearms, including concealed carry permits. It also administers public auctions to satisfy legal judgments and a medication disposal program.

The Sheriff's Office provides information on the monthly Sheriff's sale of property and on navigating the civil process in order to have Court documents served on someone.

Learn more about the Sheriff's Office