DHS Home Page
Department of Human Services    Follow DHS on Facebook Follow DHS on Twitter Watch DHS Videos on Vimeo Connect with DHS on LinkedIn

Reporting Child Abuse

Everyone* is encouraged to

call 412-473-2000 or 1-800-932-0313** if you are concerned about the well-being of a person, 18 years of age or younger. These numbers answer 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

If you have it, you will be asked to share information such as:  

  • Names and addresses of the child, parents, and any other person responsible for the child’s welfare
  • Where the suspected abuse occurred
  • Age and sex of each subject child of the report
  • Nature and extent of the suspected child abuse, including any evidence of prior abuse to the child or any sibling to the child
  • Name and relationship of each individual responsible for causing the suspected abuse and any evidence of prior abuse by each individual
  • Family composition
  • Source of the report
  • Actions you have taken (e.g. photographs, x-rays and medical tests)
  • Your name, telephone number and email address*

*You can make the call anonymously and do not have to give your name or contact information.

**The Pennsylvania ChildLine and Abuse Registry is known as “ChildLine.” ChildLine accepts and assigns reports of child abuse to county children and youth agencies for investigation. ChildLine may also provide information and referral services for families and children.

Professionals Who Interact with Children 

Some people must report their concerns about a child’s well-being and are called mandated reporters. Find out if you are a mandated reporter and how to get training. Learn more  

 


Recent changes to the Child Protective Services Law

PA Child Protective Services Law
The Pennsylvania law governing the protection of children from abuse is the Child Protective Services Law (CPSL) 23 PA CS63. The CPSL recently had many changes made to it, many of which are effective on December 31, 2014. 

Child Abuse and Perpetrator: What's New
This document includes the new definitions for “child abuse” and “perpetrator” that are effective beginning December 31, 2014. This is not an all-inclusive overview of all recent changes to the Child Protective Services Law (CPSL).


Related Resources 

Pennsylvania Child Welfare Resource Center
This site presents changes to the definitions of child abuse, perpetrators and mandated reporters as well as the changes in thresholds and background check requirements. Most are effective December 31, 2014.

Allegheny County DHS held an education session to explain the changes to the Child Protective Services Law that are effective December 31, 2014. View a video of the 90-minute presentation. The accompanying CPSL PowerPoint presentation is also available.